I’m on the 21st day of the 24-Day Abs Workout Challenge.  Today will be 130 crunches; 52 leg raises and an 80-second plank.  This has probably been one of the most consistent moments where I’ve stuck to a program. In addition, I’ve been drinking my water equivalent to my weight: 94.9oz a day.  I’ve also been walking outside. The weather has been fluctuating between fall and winter these days LOL.

bwdw  wpid-wp-1412559816832.jpg

At times like these, especially during my life journey, never take life or your health for granted.  This year, in 2014, we’ve experienced several transitions.  Two occurred within less than a week and both are an impact on my life.

Olivier

I’ve always heard about Bishop Leonard J. Olivier in name only when I lived at home in Birmingham, AL. I finally met him during a day of reflection a couple of years ago. He was instrumental in helping to establish my fraternal order family in the Archdiocese of Washington, DC.  He had a beautiful heart and spirit and was affectionately known as “Uncle Bishop”, due to the fact he has several nieces and nephews. A native of Lake Charles, Louisiana, he embodied the spirit of our Noble Order’s patron saint, St. Peter Claver.  I remembered when we celebrated his 25th Anniversary ordination as Bishop in the Archdiocese, Father Green mentioned that his favorite song was ‘Order My Steps’.  Ironically, the date he was appointed an auxiliary bishop was November 7, 1988 – the month and date of the founding of the Knights of Peter Claver, my fraternal order (November 7, 1909). Our order has been in existence for 105 years; years of service to the church, the community, and in the Claver Spirit.  ‘Uncle Bishop’ will be truly missed. He was 91 years old.

Marion Barry

Marion Barry, Jr. is STILL known as “Mayor for Life” for Washington, DC.  Living in another part of the country, the only thing the media spun were the personal challenges he dealt with in life.  It’s unfortunate that it took me to move to the area to learn how he truly made an impact on the community.  Mr. Barry LOVED DC and vice versa.  He established an excellent summer youth employment program. Many Washingtonians say that Mayor Barry gave them their first job and are STILL working.  He was charismatic; approachable; spoke to people; knew their names.  The last time I saw him was during the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington last year.  Along with the anniversary, many were gathered at the DC Veterans Memorial for a DC Statehood Rally.  I saw the man himself. He was instrumental in starting the movement for pursuit of statehood for DC and to increase the rights of ‘home rule’. I haven’t felt this way about a transition since Chuck Brown two years ago.  Another eternal life celebration is going on right now.  Marion Barry, Jr. will be truly missed. He was 78 years old.

I push myself each day to do better on my workout and my eating habits.  There’s so much that I want to do and I’m not able to do it if I allow my health to be unchecked.  I’m determined to win! I’m a work in progress!

wpid-img_20140907_095029.jpg

Leave a Reply

